Driving School

The Village Municipal Court offers a Deferred Sentencing/Probation Program to eligible Defendants, providing an opportunity to have moving violations dismissed upon fulfilling specific conditions. To apply for this program, Defendants must visit the Court Office during regular office hours. Our office is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Thursday and from 8 a.m. to 12 p.m. on Fridays. The Court Office is located at 2304 Manchester Dr, The Village, OK 73120.

Qualification Criteria

To be considered for the Deferred Sentencing/Probation Program, Defendants must meet the following qualifications

Clean Driving Record

The Defendant must have a valid driver's license and should not have been convicted of a moving violation in the past 3 years.

No Recent Deferred Sentencing/Probation

The Defendant must not have been granted deferred sentencing/probation by The Village Municipal Court within the last 3 years.

Eligible Violation

The violation for which the Defendant seeks deferred sentencing/probation must meet the following criteria

  • The violation must not have resulted in an accident.
  • The violation must not have occurred in a school zone.
  • The defendant must not have received any criminal charges at the time of the violation.

Must Not Have a Commercial Driver's License

Participation Requirements

For Defendants who qualify for deferred sentencing/probation, the program requirements are as follows

  • Defendant may not violate any city, state, or federal laws for the 6-month period following the issuance of the agreement.
  • A defendant must pass an online driver improvement school. They may choose any online defensive driving school accredited in Oklahoma and recognized by The Village Municipal Court. Some eligible schools include:
  • Visit the Go to Traffic School website.
  • Visit the Oklahoma Driver Improvement website.
  • Visit the Oklahoma Safety Council Online Defensive Driving website.
  • It is your responsibility to provide your certificate to the Court Office upon completion of your probation!
  • If the Defendant fulfills all obligations, the citation will be dismissed with $130 in fines/costs per citation. This is due the week of their return court date.

Program Benefits

For those who qualify, the Deferred Sentencing/Probation Program offers the following benefits

Dismissal of Charges

 Upon successful completion of all program conditions, the Court will dismiss the charges against the Defendant with fines and court costs.

Fine Reduction

If all program requirements are met, the fine amount will be reduced to $130 per citation. This amount is due in full at the end of the 6-month probation period.

Payment Plans, Failed Probation, and Exceptions to Qualification

Please note that fines ordered on deferred sentences/probation are not eligible for payment plans and must be paid in full upon completion of probation. Failure to comply with the program terms or receiving another ticket during the probationary period may nullify the agreement, leading to a conviction.

Defendants who do not meet the standard qualifications or fail to comply with their program terms have the option to request a court appearance so the Judge may review their case and potentially consider an exception. You may request a court appearance by calling 405-751-9266.